School hours and attendance

School hours

Time
8.50 am School commences
10.40 am Recess
1.00 pm Lunch
3.00 pm School finishes
3.10 pm School bus pick up

The term dates for 2017

2017 Students Teachers
Semester 1
Term 1 Wed 1 February – Friday 7 April Monday 30 January – Friday 11 April
Break Saturday 8 April – Sunday 23 April Saturday 8 April – Sunday 23 April
Term 2 Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June
Break Saturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July Saturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July
Semester 2
Term 3 Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September
Break Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October
Term 4 Monday 9 October – Thursday 14 December Monday 9 October – Friday 15 December
  • All students start the school year on Wednesday 1 February and end the school year on Thursday 14 December.
  • There are seven school development days decided by the school where students do not attend:
    • Two of these days are before the school year starts for students and one day is after the school year ends for students.
    • Each school schedules another four days throughout the year in consultation with its school council/board and school community.

School Development Days

The development days for Bremer Bay Primary School in 2017 are:

  • Term 1- Monday 30th January and Tuesday 31st January
  • Term 2 – Monday 24th April
  • Term 3- Friday 18th August
  • Term 4- Monday 9th October and Friday 15th December.

Students are not required to attend on these development days. There may be some minor changes to these but you will be notified if that is the case.

Sick Children, Asthma and First Aid Policy

While we do not like children to miss school, we ask that if your child is unwell, they stay at home. We have no facilities to take care of unwell students and it is very distressing for the children to be away from the care of home at such times. Parents or emergency contacts will be phoned when children are ill at school.

The school has a basic first aid kit located in the staff room. If the condition is serious, contact will be made with the parents via the Enrolment card. Minor cuts and scratches can be treated by the teachers concerned.

Records are kept of accidents and treatment administered. Contact is made with the Nursing Post when necessary.